Purple Paint Problem

 

Yesterday, I put a small dent in five gallons of exterior house paint.  I’d gone to my old reliable guys, and chose Mocha—from a short list of Standard colors.  But I’m a bit nervous:  even after several hours, as I put my paintbrush in the fridge for the night, that long south wall was still looking just a tad bit purple.  (I’ve seen two purple houses. Everybody had the same question: “Why?”)  As I type this, I’m chomping at the bit to check it when the sun comes up.

To top it off, the horizontal HardiePlank isn’t conducive to rolling, so I wasn’t happy with the brush finish.  It might need second coat, and it’s nearly October.  Good morning, Boys and Girls. Can you say, “Oh, Snap!!”?

But it gets worse: Last night I could hear loud barking.  It was coming from my hammer toes, rear-ended back, tennis elbow, and rotator cuff.  But that was nothing that couldn’t be solved with a shot of ibuprofen with a Diet Coke chaser.

Oh—and the wall I painted was Mom’s house.  She got home from Hawaii late last night, so I’m sure to get her two cents’ worth.  (Ooh: right now I’m really glad I weeded her garden while she was away.  Score!)

‘Worst case scenario, we can tweak the tint and rent a sprayer.  And all things considered, these are First World Problems.  One of the best gifts Christians have is a little thing called perspective.  Paint color is not something to stress over.

Now that I think about it, I’d had a hard time picking the shade.  I didn’t care for people putting me in a box called Current Trend.  I only settled on Mocha because the paint sale is ending.  Maybe taupe is just the ticket.  …..…Nah…

This entry was posted in Homemaking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Purple Paint Problem

  1. elsiephoebe says:

    UPDATE: It’s not purple; it’s a nice mocha. I’d been misinformed; rolling works famously–it’s going way faster! And Mom loves the color. I guess we’re 3 for 3. FTW

Leave a Reply

