What a Difference a Year Makes

 

Today is the one-year mark since I set foot in their house.

~ as you go out from there, shake the dust off the soles of your feet  ~

I made several attempts, but it just didn’t work out.

~ Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God. ~

We haven’t spoken in the time it takes for the earth to travel around the sun.

~ My soul waits in silence for God only; From Him is my salvation. ~

This isn’t the first time in my life I’ve experienced irreconcilable differences.

~ If it be possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all men. ~

Sometimes peace isn’t possible.  Compromising God’s will is too steep a price tag.

~The wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable. ~

It used to be the only one I ever mourned deeply was Grandma. That’s changed.

~ Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God ~

But in each case, it took only a year.  Maybe it’s just surviving all four seasons.

~ Return to Me with all your heart, And with fasting, weeping and mourning ~

I have put the black frock in storage.  I have donned a cozy Disney hoodie.

~ Weeping may last for the night, But a shout of joy comes in the morning. ~

The lessons I’ve learned in these 12 months are “beyond fathom.”

~ God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God ~

I’m not one to be sad on anniversaries, no matter how sad the loss.  Moving on!

~ now you are Light in the Lord; walk as children of Light ~

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Christianity, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What a Difference a Year Makes

  1. Wow, love it! Its crazy that I found this post, because this is exactly how I’m feeling right now.

  2. G says:

    i weep and also shout for joy with you.  I would never want to lose your friendship, especially if it’s the way I think the others went by the wayside.  You’re quite “the trooper” Laura, and I admire your “walk”  ~~ seeings how it’s led you to an even deeper relationship and dependence on the One who never fails us or leaves us.  Always “time to move on” and we need that special nudge from the Holy Spirit to not look back or despair.  I myself looked back today over having to get into things, and giving something away that was a memory.  This is always so hard for me to LET GO. 

    He “restoreth” our souls and I’m resting in that promise this evening as “the gloomy feelings have settled in”.  Part of me wants to go back to Egypt because of the pain/despair.  Then I read your blog.  Thank you for your words.

  3. Mom, you are wise and encouraging; thank you!

  4. B. says:

    I read this blog a week ago and just thought about you all week. Yes, a year does mark a turning point, if we let it. Sounds like you are letting it sink in well, as opposed to sinking in to the past and wallowing in it forever…which, our flesh likes to do…that mud feels so good sometimes! But, there just comes a time when we gotta step out of it, wash it off, get dressed in Truth, and press on.
    B.

Leave a Reply

