“Untitled”

 

Today I read a book.  (Yeah, you heard me.)

It gave me lots of food for thought about how I spend my time.  Am I doing the things I find rewarding?  Or most of the time, am I just putting out fires?  Or maybe I’m a person who likes putting out fires.  (Nah.)

Those who know me will testify I like a full plate.  (In more ways than one, HAHA)  Yesterday I prepped my mother’s garden shed for paint.  Today it rained.  But I still wanted to be productive.  Sadly, the fall-cleaning procrastination phase is not yet complete.  So, after working for my employer this morning, I decided to start that book.

For me, keeping a lot on the plate is doable.  But this book is helpful: he discusses accentuating our strong suits, and reducing time spent on things that bring us down.  Dude.  I already knew I didn’t want to vacuum behind the couch.  No, I’m joking.  If the truth be known, I will benefit from his ideas.  Frankly, I can’t help but think it’s a thing from God.  My objectives have gotten a bit jumbled lately.

For the record, I’m being purposefully vague: my friend is sharing these concepts at an event soon, and I don’t want to steal her thunder.  But you at least deserve one quote.  Here goes:  “Some intentions are trustworthy and should be closely attended to and acted on.  Some are untrustworthy and should be ignored.  Wisdom lies in knowing the difference.”  I like that one.  Oh, OK, twist my arm.  I’ll give another:  “You can never solve a problem on its own terms.”  That one’s deep.

All in all, it is a good read, and I’ll tell you about it in a few weeks.  It may even change the way I plan this next phase of my life.

This was classic, wasn’t it?  Getting little else done because I was reading a book on time management.  Hehe.

This entry was posted in Job/Career and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Untitled”

  1. Shar says:

    Must say, your insight is delightful.

Leave a Reply

