I Wish I’d Known

 

I didn’t know it till today, but Nora Ephron died last summer.  (She wrote “When Harry Met Sally” and “Sleepless in Seattle.”)  I discovered this sad news upon perusing a magazine at the doctor’s office.  I know:  it’s pathetic that I get my news at a place I visit as rarely as possible.

I’m not 100 percent on board with Nora’s short list: “What I Wish I’d Known” but I’ll post a few, with a comment or two:

Nora Laura
People have only one way to be. I don’t accept that people can’t be changed.  But I do believe that, at any given juncture, people have only one way to be.
You can’t be friends with people who call after 11 p.m. This one, I am 100 percent on board with.
The plane is not going to crash. I will enjoy this one on my vacation: first time flying in 40 years.
Write everything down. I’ve been telling people this for EVER!
Take more pictures. If I could, I’d say, “True Dat.”
You can order more than one dessert. Why didn’t I think of that?!
When your children are teenagers, it’s important to have a dog so that someone in the house is happy to see you. LOLOL
Back up your files. Right now.
There’s no point in making piecrust from scratch. Dedicated to you-know-who.
There are no secrets. “…all things are open and laid bare to the eyes of Him with whom we have to do.”

= – = – =

Now it’s my turn.  A few things I Wish I’d Known. 

Doggies are wonderful.
Hanging out does not equal love.
We think we’re more humble than God knows we aren’t.
Geography matters.
Trust nobody until they’ve earned it.  Only keep trusting them if they keep earning it.
If you’re so sure you’re doing okay at something, what would be the harm in asking?
There’s no rule that says you can’t sleep with your socks on.
If you go up to some people and say, “Hi; can I buy a ticket to this conversation?”  They won’t climb up on a table, get everyone’s attention, and point and laugh at you.
Summer always only lasts three months.
Butter and sugar are but for a moment, but calories are butt forever.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Keeping up Appearances, Self-confrontation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Wish I’d Known

  1. Shar says:

    Well done!

Leave a Reply

