Our God is Greater

 

Chris Tomlin’s “Our God (is Greater)” is one of my favorite worship songs:

Our God is greater, our God is stronger, God You are higher than any other.
Our God is Healer, awesome and power, Our God, Our God.

This morning, in a fallow moment in traffic, I started humming that tune.  My mind was dotted with prayers for loved ones, as well as burdens of my own.

Then the two meshed—the troubles, and the tune.  Wow.  It occurred to me—– “Our God is Greater” is the (eventual) answer to any question in life!

= – =

Q: Why is there so much wickedness in this city? 
A: Because mankind is depraved. 
Q: What if it comes to my door? 
A: Our God is Greater.

= – =

See what I mean?

= – =

Q:  What if I lose my job? 
A:  You’ll get behind on your bills. 
Q: And then what?  
A: Our God is Greater.

= – =

I’m lovin’ this.

= – =

Q:  Who does he think he is, talking to me like that? 
A:  Quite the Smarty-pants, I’d say. 
Q:  Should I let him get away with it? 
A:  Our God is Greater.

= – =

Q:  Where will my kids end up? 
A:  That’s for them to decide, I suppose. 
Q:  What if they get hurt? 
A:  Our God is Greater.

= – =

Q:  When will this constant stress let up? 
A:  Whenever you let it.
Q:  But everything’s going wrong! 
A:  Our God is Greater.

= – =

Q:  How am I supposed to change after all these years? 
A:  You gotta have a want to. 
Q:  Seriously, I can’t believe it’s possible. 
A:  _____  _____  ___  _________.

= – =

And if Our God is for us, then who could ever stop us?
And if our God is with us, then what can stand against?

 

This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our God is Greater

  1. Tamz says:

    Thank you for this timely reminder!!!

  2. Shar says:

    Amen and amen!

Leave a Reply

