UNASHAMED!

 

Worship is blessed with (Starfield’s) song “Unashamed.”

And I know I’m weak;
I know I’m unworthy
To call upon Your name—
But because of grace,
Because of Your mercy,
I stand here unashamed.

Today I read Genesis 50.  Upon Jacob’s death, Joseph’s brothers were afraid he’d finally want revenge; they knew they had it coming.  What a dark cloud to have hanging over them!  Can you imagine?  But Joseph forgave them; he showed grace and mercy.  He said, “…do not be afraid…”

I need this message.

For decades I truly enjoyed a childlike faith.  I was surrounded by others like me—washed by the blood of the Lamb.  Such great memories!  But then, for a period of time, I lost sight of Psalm 103: as far as the east is from the west, so far does he remove our transgressions from us. This was partly because I lost sight of those saints with whom I made those memories; my circle of influence slowly switched out.  There I was, no longer being seasoned with the salt of the earth.  Instead, I was being drawn into a sphere of impatient, meticulous record-keepers.

But, no matter: God is faithful.  I’ve rejoined the dear ones who first brought me the Word, and enjoy a fellowship that teaches the Gospel.  Thankfully, a short brush with perverse doctrine cannot take from me those rich memories.  They’re all still here.

How deep the Father’s love for us, how vast beyond all measure!”  Even before the Most Holy God, I can remain in the land.  I don’t deserve it: just like Reuben and his brothers, I know exactly what I should have coming.  But, because of Jesus, I do not wear it like a dark cloud.  It is not on the table.  In fact, I sit at the communion table.  The Lord is full of grace and mercy—which brings peace.

Isaiah 53:5b  upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace UNASHAMED!

Ps. 94:19 When my anxious thoughts multiply within me, Your consolations delight my soul. UNASHAMED!

Romans 5:1b  we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. UNASHAMED!

1 Corinthians 1:3  Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. UNASHAMED!

Galatians 6:17  From now on let no one cause me trouble, for I bear on my body the marks of Jesus. UNASHAMED!

Ephesians 2:18  For through him we both have access in one Spirit to the Father.  UNASHAMED!

Philippians 4:7  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts  UNASHAMED!

Colossians 1:20b  making peace by the blood of his cross. UNASHAMED!

John 11:26  and everyone who lives and believes in Me will never die…”  UNASHAMED!

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to UNASHAMED!

  1. Tamz says:

    Praise God that these truths lead us to obedience and freedom from the guilt that would want to consume us.

Leave a Reply

