“Carry On, my Wayward Son”

 

After today’s morning lessons, I’ve been humming the Kansas song:

Carry on my wayward son
There’ll be peace when you are done
Lay your weary head to rest
Don’t you cry no more

‘Ever read a familiar passage and a certain phrase pops out at you?  That’s how I felt this morning, reading about Moses:

“the burden is too heavy for me. … kill me at once… that I may not see my wretchedness.”

Unlike our Lord, who prayed similarly (“Father, if you are willing, remove this cup from me. Nevertheless, not my will, but yours, be done.”), Moses was lamenting his own sinful heart. But God kept him in the game awhile, mercifully appointing elders (and teaching Israel a lesson—in spades).

Anyway, today’s knock-out phrase was, “that I may not see my wretchedness.”  “Lord, these people drive me bonkers, and it brings out the worst in me.  Just shoot me; put me out of my misery in seeing my lack of compassion; I disgust myself.”  [LAV: Laura’s Amplified Version.]

FYI, I don’t want to be too rough on Moses; in the next chapter, God described him as faithful in all My house. 

But I’m taking something from this.  We servants sometimes we get cranky; we look in the mirror and hate what we see; we wonder how God can use such wretchedness. 

Is it an accident that today’s New Testament passage answered that question?

So whether we are at home or away, we make it our aim to please him. For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ…   Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us.

God’s Word sure has a way of morphing our perspective; He reminds us that, in our flesh, we are absolutely incapable of carrying out the tasks He has called us to.  We must call on Him; He will make a way.

It’s good to learn this while all we’re dealing with are a few rabble-rousers.  Before this is over, things could get dicey.  But God promises to be with us through it all:

in afflictions, hardships, calamities, beatings, imprisonments, riots, labors, sleepless nights, hunger… dishonor…  slander…  treated as impostors, and yet are true; as unknown, and yet well known; as dying, and behold, we live; as punished, and yet not killed; as sorrowful, yet always rejoicing; as poor, yet making many rich; as having nothing, yet possessing everything.

Carry on my wayward son.  There’ll be peace when you are done.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Mind Matters, Self-confrontation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Carry On, my Wayward Son”

  1. Elsiephobie, You must be quoting ‘The Message’ in the New Testament passage. Coould that be correct? Didn’t know which chapter and verse so I did not attempt to look it up.
    I remember that Moses was trying to ‘judge’ all six and one quarter million Hebrews and camp followers and just couldn’t get around to it all.
    His father-in-law came to help and said, “Why don’t you approint a few helpers? Say, about 10, who would be masters over ten, who would also have one hundred under them.” And so on it went until the total number of judges required would be about one hundred thousand of which Moses would have to see oversee.
    The problem was this: Ten is the number of ‘humanity’ and is an imperfect number.”
    Moses wound up appointing seven who would have seventy under them.
    Seven is the ‘Perfect’ number, the ‘number of ‘completion’. Six days to form the earth and one to rest = seven.
    That is why there was seventy men in the Sanhedrin.
    Seventy men accomponied Moses up Mount Sinai.
    Seventy descendents of Abram went down to Egypt.
    Judah was held captive in Babylon for seventy years.
    Seventy Elders surrond the throne in The Revelation of Jesus Christ as given to John.
    On and on it goes with seventy.
    Kansas Huh?
    Larry The Eyes of Texas are upon YOU!

    • elsiephoebe says:

      I quoted Numbers 11:14-15, from the ESV. It was elders, filled with the Holy Spirit, who (temporarily) prophesied. Jethro’s advice was in Exodus 18, where chiefs were established for judging some cases.
      Those “70” facts were really interesting. Thanks for sharing, Larry the Eyes of Texas!
      — Laura

  2. elsiephoebe says:

    English Standard Version

Leave a Reply

