My Method

 

My organizational system is legendary.  Um, well, evidently I’m the only one who loves the legend.  I’ve used this system for decades—but nobody I’ve shared it with has adopted it (that I know of).  But I often wondered what others do to prevent things falling through the cracks.  Their Calendars, To-do lists, and Paper piles yielded sloppy results.

I must admit, however, I’ve observed more efficiency due to electronic devices.  I can no longer honestly say my way is the only way.  If you don’t have a version of Laura’s Daily File, I guess that’s not a deal-breaker.

This lesson has been hitting home with me on both clerical fronts. [ETYMOLOGY: Clerk – from the latin clericus (priest) – transliteration of the Greek clericos (priest). Modern clerical usage refers to the dark ages when clergy alone could read and write.]

I’ve discovered there are things some folks consider deal-breakers; problems that fracture friendship.  No, I’m not talking about the Big Three. Nor am I referring to the Gospel.  These are petty things, and it’s tragic what they’re doing to relationships.

I suppose each of us has our own list of what we’d consider a deal-breaker.  [Fill in the blank.]  But Jesus forgives the unforgivable; shouldn’t we be able to weather the storms?  Let your light shine before men…

I’ve seen relationships dissolve over somebody being friends with the wayward; or having differing political views; even working on Sundays! or because somebody’s angry. If someone has an anger problem, ought we not introduce the peaceful?  If someone’s immature, shouldn’t we bring in the wise?   If we see esoteric literature, shall we not bring the Word?  If we hear gossip, shouldn’t we seek the truth?  If some are unruly, ought we not come alongside?

Fleshly, petty preferences should have very little impact on the paradigm of peace.  How much better to set aside such trivialities.  Otherwise, God’s work must be taken out of distracted hands and placed into others.

Do we really want that to happen?

Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?” Then I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

This entry was posted in Christianity, Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Method

  1. Tamz says:

    Great post! A little thought goes such a long way with you, girl! 🙂

  2. elsiephoebe says:

    Yeah. What a difference a day makes. 😉

Leave a Reply

