“Food, Glorious Food”

 

Yesterday I actually posted this Facebook status:  “After three days of this liquid diet, I actually gave Ben’s dog food a second look, Haha.”

Yeah, food: I likes it.  Last night Hubby watched “Over the Hedge.”  I heard Bruce Willis:  “The human mouth is called a ‘pie-hole’.  The human being is called a ‘couch potato’.  Phone: *That* is a device to summon food.  Doorbell: *That* is one of the many voices of food.”

God has an interesting sense of humor.  I decided to get this surgery over with while still temping.  Then I got hired on!  So the first week I’m supposed to meet the coworkers, if I go to the lunch they’ve planned, I’ll have to ask the waiter to turn my salad to a puree. And if I have my picture taken for my ID card, it’ll be gleaming with gums that are gray.  Nice!

So here’s the thing: this has been eye opening.  For three days, my mouth has hurt like the dickens, and I’ve been drinking from a blender.  So I’ve been faced head-on with the grueling grill:  my enjoyment of the eating; craving for the crunch; relishing of the relish; sneaking of the snack.

I’d been wanting to hold off the habit.  Well, God must have heard me: the Spirit is speaking in spades.

But he answered, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.'” (Matthew 4:4)

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.” (John 6:35)

“I have not departed from the commandment of his lips; I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my portion of food.” (Job 23:12)

“Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!” (Psalm 34:8)

This is definitely food for thought.

I can’t believe I’m even writing this, but this could be the best five grand I’ve ever spent.  We’ll see.

I guess the proof is in the pudding.

Mmm.  Pudding.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Health, Self-confrontation, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Food, Glorious Food”

  1. Elsie/Phoebie/Laura
    You have the unique ability to take any subject and turn it into a scriptural lesson. How wonderful to have such a talent!
    You definetly have the gift of edification and exhortation.
    Thank you for all the thoughtful but zany things you write.
    Larry

Leave a Reply

