Nilsson Faves

 

ME AND MY ARROW

Me and my arrow

Straighter than narrow

Wherever we go, everyone knows

It’s me and my arrow

Me and my arrow

Taking the high road

Wherever we go, everyone knows

It’s me and my arrow

And in the morning when I wake up

She may be gone, I don’t know

And we make up just to break up

I’ll carry on, oh yes I will

Me and my arrow

(do-do-do-do-do-do-do-do)

Straighter than narrow

Wherever we go, everyone knows

It’s me and my arrow

= – =

GOTTA GET UP

Gotta get up, gotta get out

Gotta get home before the morning comes

What if I’m late, gotta big date

Gotta get home before the sun comes up

Up and away, got big day, sorry can’t stay

I gotta run run, yeah

Gotta get home, pick up the phone

Gotta let the people know I’m gonna be late  [etc.]

= – =

DRIVING ALONG

Driving along you can see all the people

Who seem to have nothing to say to each other

Each day they grow farther and farther away from each other

Driving along you can spot all the problems

On faces so tired of facing each other

Each day they grow farther and farther away from each other  [etc.]

= – =

EARLY IN THE MORNING

Early in the morning and I can’t get right

Had a little date with my baby last night

Now it’s early in the morning, well, it’s early in the morning

Now it’s early in the morning and I ain’t got nothing but the blues (etc.)

= – =

EVERYBODY’S TALKIN’

Everybody’s talking at me

I don’t hear a word they’re saying

Only the echoes of my mind

People stopping staring

I can’t see their faces

Only the shadows of their eyes

I’m going where the sun keeps shining

Thru’ the pouring rain

Going where the weather suits my clothes

Banking off of the North East wind

Sailing on a summer breeze

And skipping over the ocean like a stone

= – =

THE MOONBEAM SONG

Have you ever watched a moonbeam as it slid across your windowpane

Or struggled with a bit of rain or danced about the weathervane

Or sat along a moving train and wondered where the train has been?

Or on a fence with bits of crap around its bottom

Blown there by a wind beam who searches for the moonbeam

Who was last seen

Looking at the tracks of the careless wind beam

Or moving to the tracks of the tireless freight train

And lighting up the sides of the weathervane

And the bits of rain and the windowpane

And the eyes of those who think they saw what happened  [etc.]

WITHOUT YOU

No, I can’t forget this evening

Or your face as you were leaving

But I guess that’s just the way the story goes

You always smile but in your eyes

Your sorrow shows, yes, it shows

No, I can’t forget tomorrow

When I think of all my sorrows

And I had you there but then I let you go

And now it’s only fair that I should let you know

What you should know
I can’t live if living is without you I can’t live,

I can’t give any more

Can’t live if living is without you I can’t give,

I can’t give any more  [etc.]

= – =

THE PUPPY SONG

Dreams are nothing more than wishes

And a wish is just a dream

You wish to come true, woo woo

If only I could have a puppy

I’d call myself so very lucky

Just to have some company

To share a cup of tea with me

I’d take my puppy everywhere

La, la, la-la I wouldn’t care

And we would stay away from crowds

And signs that said no dogs allowed

Oh we, I know he’d never bite me

Whoa de lo… we, I know he’d never bite me

If only I could have a friend

To stick with me until the end

And walk along beside the sea

share a bit of moon with me

I’d take my friend most everywhere

La, la, la-la I wouldn’t care

We would stay away from crowds

With signs that said no friends allowed

Oh we, we’d be so happy to be

Whoa de lo… we, we’d be so happy to be together  [etc.]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nilsson Faves

  1. b. says:

    Some of my loved songs from waaay back…he died so young…

  2. And your point?
    Other than revealing your age. Yuk, Yuk
    You were up awfully late. Having a sleepless night?
    Regrets, Yes quite a few!
    Larry.

Leave a Reply

