Sticks and Stones

 

To further elucidate Sticks and Stones (see 4/6/13): “Names can never hurt me.”  There’s a subtle nuance between hurt and harm.  Words hurt, but not deeply.  Also, Names: every word that a human speaks is tainted by sin.  Because I belong to the Lord, none of the falderal of my fellow fallen can do me a speck of harm.*

  • I am Christian.  Call me anything you want.  Can never hurt me.
  • I love people that others choose not to.  Deal.  Can never hurt me.
  • I pick who I’m accountable to. Go ahead and point.  Can never hurt me.
  • There’s no such thing as turf.  This is America.  Can never hurt me.
  • Catalogue me in your judgment book. With the others. Can never hurt me.
  • Fail to use God’s Words rightly. I have the Spirit.  Can never hurt me.
  • Consider yourself an “absolver.”  That’s not your job.  Can never hurt me.
  • Make assumptions. Feed your psychotic imagination.  Can never hurt me.
  • Fabricate.  Embellish.  Tweak.  Jab.  Lie.  Can never hurt me.
  • Try to humiliate.  It is you who will be disgraced.  Can never hurt me.
  • Make mountains out of molehills. Both are piles.  Can never hurt me.
  • Consider yourself above reproach.  No one else does.  Can never hurt me.
  • Evaluate the minutia.  Inventory expected change.  Can never hurt me.
  • Plaster pathetic propaganda prolifically.  Can never hurt me.
  • Cloister the ignorant.  Show them how to be terrorists.  Can never hurt me.
  • Hide all tenderness.  Exhibit contempt.  Can never hurt me.
  • Criticize.  Condescend. Categorize.  Can never hurt me.
  • Throw big names around.  Quote references.  Can never hurt me.
  • Be verbally abusive.  Yell.  Scream!  Can never hurt me.
  • Blog. Berate. Blather. Can never hurt me.

= – =

*He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High

Will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress,
My God, in whom I trust!” …
For it is He who delivers you from the snare of the trapper
And from the deadly pestilence.
He will cover you with His pinions,
And under His wings you may seek refuge;
His faithfulness is a shield and bulwark.

 You will not be afraid of the terror by night,
Or of the arrow that flies by day;

Of the pestilence that stalks in darkness,
Or of the destruction that lays waste at noon.

This entry was posted in America, Christianity, Keeping up Appearances, Mind Matters, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sticks and Stones

  1. Jodeen says:

    AMEN!

  2. Berdie says:

    Love this one Laura, great post and great scripture as well!

  3. Gail says:

    Very good insight; all wrapped up in one “Nut-shell”.

  4. gyanfry says:

    Reblogged this on gefry777.

Leave a Reply

