Ambient Attention

 

My job is analytical, as are others in the office.  If we’re pouring over things, and somebody starts talking, it’s not uncommon to miss the gist.  We look up: “Did you say something?”  I also used to observe this with my kids:  In frustration, I would tell them to work on their “ambient attention.”

Our Sunday class reminded us, however, that this isn’t a problem for God.  His attention is always on certain ones:   The eyes of the Lord are toward the righteous And His ears are open to their cry.  // A broken and a contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.  (By the way, God’s attention isn’t preoccupied with everybody:  The face of the Lord is against evildoers…)

I’ve observed that very few people have decent ambient attention.  Before I ever launch into one of my pithy platitudes, I’ve discovered I must first knock-knock, actively bring them out of what they’re doing, and then practice interactive verbiage as a test.  This takes more time than the actual announcement!  I just love the fact that God doesn’t require that rigmarole.  The eyes of the Lord are toward the righteous…

I can

Just.

Say.

It.

And He hears me.  He’s not distant, distracted, or disingenuous:  The Lord is near to the brokenhearted… Nobody else really loves me like that.  Nobody.

People are walking, watching, or clicking—here, there, and everywhere.   I regularly run the above rigmarole.  Frankly, I can be in a room full of people and be completely alone.

But it’s such an encouragement to know I’m not alone, and I matter enough to God that he’s ready to hear me—365 days, 24/7: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

Knock-knock!

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Christianity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

