Al Dente

I don’t make homemade lasagna anymore.  But did know that the frilly-edged sheets are cooked twice, so the first time you’d better stop at al dente (underdone). [Tidbit: Al dente is from Italian: “to the tooth.”]

Today I was painting our home’s exterior.   I had to stop; I’m sore from head to toe.  I guess you could say my house is al dente.

So is my life:  somewhat underdone, and a yes, little chewy.  But at least I’m still cookin’!

Some people I’ve known miss this.  They think they’re cooked to perfection, and others are unprepared or rotten, to be tossed.  They’ve got it wrong: we’re all a little bit underdone (they, more than most).  My momma taught me not to waste food.  (Insert “waist” joke here.)  No, we don’t throw away ingredients just because we don’t like them as they are; we pare off their stringy parts, mix them with others, and add a little spice.  Some take awhile to simmer; we’re to keep on stirring:

 And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another…

Today was rough: after chores, prep, pruning, and ladders, I made some headway before I turned into a puddle.  I wished the project were farther along, but Hubby treated me to Chinese and a long walk. And tomorrow is fellowship, corporate worship, and ministry.  I’m okay with this painting job being unfinished for now.  (Hey, the house was half-and-half for a year!)

This is a good lesson: we can never finish what we don’t start.  There is no rule that says we have to Do Everything, All the Time, FAST, Right Now!  That’s actually how I operated for most of my life, but people (including my boss) are teaching that out of me. It’s all about workflow.  It’s totally okay to have a few irons in the fire, as long as you handle with care.

So what if Google’s satellite snaps a picture of my two-toned abode?  It’s a visual reminder that the people who live inside are works in progress.  Maybe I’ve found a new nickname.  (I’ve wanted to replace my old one.)  You can call me Al Dente!

This entry was posted in Christianity, Homemaking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Al Dente

  1. b says:

    Love it! Thanks, as usual, for good thouhts to consider.

  2. Shar says:

    An EXCELLENT post Laura, Oh, Uhhhmm, or rather, Al Dente. How’s “Addy” for short?

Leave a Reply

