Turf Wars

Yesterday morning, I scrambled for the camera: the dog and cat had slept on the same couch! But I don’t hold out hope of them being pals; I chalked it up to a cushiony turf war.
What a reminder! There remains an earth-vs.-heaven turf war. The war’s won; but millions of minions remain engaged. “Why are the nations in an uproar…? … He who sits in the heavens laughs…”
Thankfully, God picked me for His side—while I was still walking on The Dark Side: “you formerly walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, of the spirit that is now working in the sons of disobedience.”
I had no choice in the matter; I was saved from the devil’s dominion. And by the Lord’s might I can follow Him and have victory. Or, I can remain a buck private, being distracted by convincing servants of another master. It’s a turf war, all right: not for my soul (Halleluiah), but for my battle-scarred head, hands, and feet.
Last week, immersed in the world, was a rough patch; I haven’t understood the Why. So I cried out to God. And He answered. A friend reminded me that when a strong believer ventures onto his turf, the devil will try to mess with it. Wow. How soon we forget: I’ve been down this road: in fact, I’m still being barred from a realm where, sadly, the devil seems to have a foothold.
So what do we do with all this? Sure, the prince of the power of the air is busy. But we ought not to go AWOL: we’re at our worst alone. We desperately need to be strengthened through Christ, through His Word, shared by the Spirit-filled. And it’s ALL about prayer: “You are from God, little children, and have overcome them; because greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world.”

This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Turf Wars

  1. Laura, Finally blogged again after 15 months. Please read ‘Straight from the top’. Need your input.
    Could not get rid of peripherals from old post.
    Love your sunrise photo, WAIT! You are up too late for sunrise, Must be ‘Sunset’!
    Larry

Leave a comment