A Visit at Dollar Tree

= – =

I ran into someone I knew,

While shopping at Dollar Tree.

Years had added a distance,

But I engaged her anyway.

= – =

Someone told her that we aren’t friends;

So it was awkward for awhile.

But we’d always had great rapport,

And, like old times, I made her smile.

= – =

I have walked in her awkward shoes,

(Sadly, I, too, used to shun).

So I spoke with grace and friendship,

(As we should with everyone!)

= – =

We shared about our families,

Neither of us held back much;

And chatted of holiday busy-ness,

Travel, grandkids, and such.

= – =

All the while, I was wondering:

It’s not the same: what’s the deal?

We used to be so very close,

So kindred, so loving, so real.

= – =

But this time it was different:

“I’ll let you go…”  — “I’d better get…”

I begged strength in Christ to ask her:

“Are you still at that place we met?”

= – =

“Yes,” she responded cleanly,

Touting their accomplishments.

It was all I could do to keep quiet,

And not share a long lament!

= – =

Her so-called church teaches shunning,

Unforgiveness, bitterness, and hate.

But we’ve spoken about this before,

So I just keep on praying, and wait.

= – =

Then, after a nice, long visit,

I breathed an audible sigh,

Shuffled my awkward shoes a bit

And quietly said, “Good-bye.”

= – =

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, Keeping up Appearances, Self-confrontation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Visit at Dollar Tree

  1. jpingraham says:

    Ok Ok – who was it?

  2. TONI M PORTER says:

    It makes my heart ache to know that there are still so many others still being deceived there.

Leave a comment